unsevered by traci sanders

stars-5-0._V192240867_ (1)

 

Unsevered kept me glued to the pages from the first paragraph. The dedication reads: “Dedicated to all military spouses … especially those whose loved ones made the ultimate sacrifice.”

The book is written in first person and it is a raw, emotionally realistic portrayal of  Jewel, a military spouse who feels she has lost all reason to live, when Harley, her husband and the man she shares the deepest kind of love with, loses his life in combat.

The paranormal component of this story is wonderful, and an element that many people who lose the love of their life, too would wish to have—contact with the one who has left this earthly scene, leaving their lives shattered and their hearts broken.

Harleys guidance steadies Jewel through many painful times. In the first chapter his voice, his presence stops her when she is about to commit suicide.

I quote from the book  “Just as the first pill is about to meet with my tongue, the radio comes on by itself and plays a soft version of “I Got You Babe.’’ My nose is invaded with the scent of Eternity cologne and a disembodied voice sends chills down my spine. “Don’t do it, Jules.”

I would know his voice anywhere. “Harley? Oh, Harley.’’

“Yeah, baby. It’s me. I’m here,” he says, his words calm and soothing. A tremble reverberates throughout my body. The tears seem to pause midstream on my face. My voice is barely audible. “Where? I can’t see you. I must be dreaming.”

“No, you’re not dreaming. You’re grieving. And you’re about to make the biggest mistake of your life.”

….“This can’t be happening. You’re dead. I’m just hallucinating. It’s the pills. Just the pills.” I nod my head a few times with vigor to confirm it to myself. I look down at the bottle still in my hand; I haven’t taken them yet. I put the capsules back in the bottle and close the lid.

“I’ve been watching you since the moment I died. I know what you were about to do.”

My eyes shift toward the floor. “But what’s the use in living if I can’t be with you? At least we could be together this way.”

“It doesn’t work like that, sweetheart. You can’t kill yourself to be with me. We won’t end up together.”

Tears flood my eyes. “But I miss you, Harley. I want to be with you. There’s nothing here for me anymore. I don’t want to live without you.” The room is silent for a moment. I call out his name to ensure he’s still there.

Moments later, he speaks again. “I know. I miss you too. But I lived out my destiny. I died doing what I was meant to do. I served my purpose in the world, and then I was called home.”

 “But your home is here with me. You belong here!” Anger and desperation seep through my words.

“The universe is done with me, but it isn’t done with you yet, baby. You haven’t fulfilled your destiny.”

Throughout this story of a love that never dies, one that is unsevered even in death, Jewel learns what her destiny is and it helps her to move on.  Do not miss this terrific read! It shows that in spite of shattering grief, and utter despair life needs to continue on, so we each fulfill our purpose for being here–our destiny. Beyond that time of sorrow , joy can eventually fill the soul and there is hope–in Jewels case even unsuspect gifts!

To purchase Unsevered on Amazon.com click here