Rereading Jane Eyre

The Light of My Life

“He’s gone, mum. Says he’s had enough. Says he needs his freedom.”
“Christmas does that to some people. They get depressed and need a break.”
“He wants a permanent break, Mum. There’s another woman.”
“Oh dear… I’m sorry, darling. I had no idea it wasn’t working out. “
“I hate him.”
“Don’t.”
“How can you defend him?”
“I don’t.”
“He’s worse than my father.”
“No one is worse than your father.”
“How can you forgive them?”
“Easy, your father gave me you, and your husband gave me my granddaughter. The rest, it doesn’t matter. Believe me, you are the light.”

This Flash Fiction was written in response to Carrot Ranch Fash Fiction Challenge check it out!

December 16, 2015 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about “spreading the light.” You can use it to honor or memorialize a loved one.

View original post 152 more words