Chris Lemme Author

When writing my first novel, Finding Bartholomew, the biggest fear I had was that the sex scenes would be misconstrued as either gratuitous or simply in poor taste. Why would I write such sexually explicit scenes unless I’m just another pervert pushing smut, right?

So I was a bit surprised that after reading my first final draft (I’m done, right?) my editor told me, “That sex scene with the main characters is really good. Write more like that!” He went on to point out the obvious (sex sells) and reaffirm why I wrote that first scene at all. It develops the characters.

A major theme of Finding Bartholomew is the main character’s fear of himself. Of expressing his true feeling towards the women in his life. Of not even looking inside himself to know what his true feelings are. This aspect of his personality is most evident in his sexual…

View original post 139 more words