The Assignment

I enjoyed this book on so many levels.

I enjoyed the apparent intimacy that Solon has with the Philippines, making me feel that her descriptions of the country, the people and the culture were accurately portrayed and that I could believe that they were a true reflection of the culture. I appreciated the history that she wove into the story, portraying the pain of an actual event in history for the people and the devastation to the country during WW II.

Sophie Mathews and Eric Santiago’s relationship was touching and drew me in from the very beginning. Sophie did not want to accept this one last assignment to the Philippines, but her boss insisted and she went with reluctance and trepidation. She loved the country, but she did not want to see Eric again. She had met him ten years earlier when she had been there on another project. They had fallen in love, but Eric had kept a secret that had torn them apart and she had left feeling hurt and betrayed. However,once she meets Marina Suarez who is the focus of her assignment, she senses that there is a big story surrounding her. Her journalist fervor, her spunk and unflagging determination drives her to discover what Marina’s dark secret is. It is inevitable that Eric and Sophie meet. He still loves her and he does not want to lose her again, but he is caught between his feeling for Sophie and his loyalty to Marina, his long time friend. He knows much of Marina’s secret and he keeps it, even though it could threaten his new beginning with Sophie.

I treasured Marina Suarez’ story; so unlikely, so tragic and so real. It showed her strength and determination, her endurance, her love, her pain and grief, her acceptance, moving on with her life but never forsaking the undying love that she harboured in her heart.

The climax of the story was a real heart tugger and the ending was so fitting. The characters became very real to me and I felt their emotions. There were two heroines in this book for me: Sophie and Marina.

It is a story of incredible characters, love, pain and loss, deep grief, determination and second chances. This is a great read for anyone who enjoys a heart touching read with many twists and turns. I wasn’t disappointed. I don’t think you will be!

You can purchase this book here on Amazon.

To learn more about Geraldine Solon follow her on Facebook.