Product Details

Widow, Virgin, Whore by Deanna Lynn Sletten

The Title of this book of this book is both appropriate and almost misleading.  I am not bothered by sexually explicit material in a book, because to me sex is a very real part of the human experience; and that is what I was expecting to find.  I was surprised, but not disappointed to find that there was no actual sex in the story.

Instead I found myself drawn into a wonderfully written human drama that centered around Katherine, who is a conservative widow: her long time friend, Denise who is shy and still a virgin: and Darla, Denise`s black sheep sister.  Darla is the “whore”, living a lifestyle that includes a string constantly changing boyfriends and a carefree party attitude that is repugnant to the other two women.

I loved this story for the way it portrayed the characters. It was so realistically human and it deals with a topic that to this day is still viewed with fear and judgement and misunderstanding.

Denise struggles with her anger and resentment towards Darla`s lifestyle; stifled emotionally throughout her life, by her embarrassment and her determination to be different.

Katherine proved herself to be a generous, supportive person who eventually overlooked Darla`s flaws and reached out to her in love and compassion. She put herself on the line to fight for justice and educate society, defending Darla’s rights as a person.

I feel very strongly about this book.  Personally, I think that it could (maybe should) be read by anyone from fourteen years of age and up; possibly even younger depending on their maturity.  Often we tend to shelter our youth, but reality can be harsh and I think they need to be aware of the facts of life.  I am a grandmother, and through observance, realize that many of young people are much more knowledgeable than we would choose to believe, long before parents want to face that fact.

This book is educational, but not preachy.  And it gives the reader insight into the consequences that can be the result of choices; it also shows that sometimes tragic things happen to people who have unsuspectingly become victims.

Judgment and guilt tripping do nothing to solve the problem.  Compassion, emotional and physical support, love and dignity are the only helpful things left to offer them; and education to prevent the same tradgedy from happening to others.

I received this book free through the WLC Read and Review program.  I give very few books 5 stars, but Widow, Virgin, Whore receives this honour from me.

You can follow Ms. Sletten at http://www.deannalynnsletten.com/

Here’s my toast to a great book